First experience with sick babes! Not something I was looking forward to, but as Ben kept saying, they have to get sick sometime. :( Doesn't mean I have to like it! Poor munchkins. Luckily it's not anything too bad. They just have a cold/virus. It started with Darry on Friday. A very croupy sounding cough. By Sunday, I called the Pediatrician to make sure that he didn't need to be seen immediately. After keeping an eye on him for Sunday, I took him in yesterday morning. Luckily it hadn't gotten into his ears or lungs - just nose congestion. This morning he's sounding SO much better, but Mikey is catching up on the congestion. Hopefully I won't have two miserable babies on my hands!! Darius has stayed pretty cheerful throughout. Micah is the grumpy man, though. I'll see how he deals with his first cold.
My mum came up this weekend to see the boys. Unfortunately she caught the stomach bug that had been going around and missed her Monday morning flight. She's back home now, and hopefully feeling much better! Saturday she took Ben and I to Olive Garden (hadn't been there since we went with Jon and Maria - when she was still pregnant! Elijah is 10/11 months now!!) after she and I had the boys out shopping pretty much all day Saturday. Sunday was a home day - just cleaning/laundry/baby care. She got sick in the afternoon, and was able to sleep pretty much all day Monday. Just hoping Ben or I don't wind up a third round of stomach bug after her stay! It was just awful.
Today was supposed to be a Mom's Group day, but with the boys being sick I didn't want to run the risk of getting any of the other babies sick, so I just kept them home. I'm bummed, but it's not like this was my last chance to go. I've got another 5 years to look forward to! At least we're still able to go to Cassie's later for lunch and a movie. Adults having a cold don't get quite so miserable as little ones do. Plus, Auntie Cassie works at a school. I think her immune system is pretty used to exposure to colds, lol. The one minor worry I have is Lillie - her dog. Lillie's never been around babies, but Cassie said that if she gets bad, she'll lock her in another room. I hope Lillie doesn't mind babies! She's going to have to get used to them sooner or later. ;)
Sunday into Monday I got a grand total of 2 1/2 hours of sleep. I just wasn't tired in the slightest, and luckily I didn't start getting tired until the evening on Monday. Sleep last night was great though! And when Duck man (Darius) woke up at 3, Ben graciously got up with him. He knew I hadn't gotten much sleep on Monday, so he wanted me to catch up. Such a wonderful hubby I have!! Monkey (Micah) woke up at 4, and I got up with him. Both boys ate quickly and went right back to sleep though. And they didn't get up until 8:45! They really are rock star sleepers. We're so lucky. I just hope that they manage to stay through-the-night sleepers. I hear it goes away sometimes...
Well, Monkey is grumping in his bouncey, and Mama needs a shower. Guess that means this blog is done.
No comments:
Post a Comment