As I am writing this, I am currently 8 weeks and 5 days pregnant with our third child, whom we have lovingly nicknamed "Pooka." While we're hoping this is the little girl we're dreaming of, we know that this is our last "dose 'o baby" no matter what. After Pooka comes along, Ben and I are both getting procedures to prevent any more pregnancies. I just don't know if I could handle four kids (to be honest, I'm not even sure I can handle three!) and with us being a one income family, three is probably over our max. Ben had a moment the other day where he just couldn't believe we were going to be a family of five.
The boys "know" about the baby. We've told them and they even play a little game where I ask them, "Where's Mommy's baby?" and they point to my stomach. But being 17 months old, I don't really think they quite comprehend that they have a little brother or sister coming along. Micah tries to say Pooka, but it winds up sounding like "ucka" (which I think is adorable.) And he loves to say "baby."
Actually, the monkey's vocabulary has really grown. Every day he is picking up new words, or at the very least attempting to repeat words we say. Darry's vocabulary has grown too, but he's not quite as interested in words as Micah. But they both say quite a few animal noises: from lion to dog, sheep to rhinoceros, turtle to snake. (The turtle says "peek a boo") And all kinds of animals in between. We're currently working on alligator, and they've mostly gotten kitty down. They know most of the parts of their bodies and recently learned the train says "choo choo." They are growing so very fast.
I think one thing that really concerns me is that my due date is just about 3 weeks after the boys turn two. I'm so nervous about having a newborn and twins in the "terrible twos" which have already seemed to have started. Darius has such a little attitude and M already throws awful temper tantrums. They really are typically well behaved, but of course they're going to have their moments. Part of it is just wanting independence. Part of it is just not knowing certain things are wrong (like biting or hitting. Something I'm really trying to break them of before they truly start up with it.)
My pregnancy with Pooka is definitely different from my first. I'm more tired (though I now have twins to chase around instead of being able to rest all day) and my morning sickness is worse. I was nauseous all the time with the boys, but have thrown up far more in 8 weeks than I had in 38 with the boys. While I know this is my last pregnancy, and therefore want to enjoy every minute of it, there is a part of me that can't wait for the second trimester - for morning sickness to end, for quickening to begin, for more energy... I'm trying to be patient, though, and just enjoy the time I'm in. :)
Well, that's it for now. Pooka is currently the size of a raspberry but will graduate to green olive size on Saturday. :)


